I thought I’d start my blog by posting some pictures I’ve recently recovered, and some new photos. I wrote this cryptic title as a way of introducing these pictures.

Recently I got a new phone and a new laptop, which was a big deal for me. I’ve always had slightly cheap and crappy technology, and feel that I benefited a lot less from technical advancements because of this. It’s not that I’m ungrateful for the gadgets my parents have bought me over the years, or that I think throwing away electrical waste for new toys is a very ethical thing to do, (I mostly have very fond memories of eagerly awaiting my laptop to finish its five minute start up so I could watch YouTube videos). Instead I’ve been appreciating the new ways technology has helped my life.

Part of the reason my old laptop was so crappy is because I overstuffed it full of large files, mostly images. These weren’t even important photos, I just get very clingy over things I’ve created. One of my hobbies is editing photos and making pictures out of photos I’ve cropped or edited together, which is why I like to have a large stock of un-copyrighted images of textures, trees and flowers. Of course, back when my internet was reaally slow it was quicker to just do things in files, so I’d just save everything to my hard drive. But one of the biggest benefits of having a new laptop is that it can save things on ‘clouds’ and internet based storage! This means no more lugging around of 5gbs of pretty similar tree pictures! And it doesn’t really matter to me if this storage gets hacked, or only gives you a limited amount of free space – I’m getting a lot better at just deleting stuff.

As well as deleting old pictures, taking new ones is so much easier! I used to have a fairly clunky 8mp digital camera. It was so basic that I think you can get more advanced ones from V-tec now (a kid’s toy company). Anyway, it was clunky, and needed 2 AA batteries to be inserted into it to work. This meant that I had to plan when I was going to use it, as I’d usually need to bring spare batteries. But now I have a camera 3 times as good in my phone? This means I can finally start taking pictures when the sky looks nice or when I see a cute dog!

The next post will be a collection of images, some very old and recovered from 2004, and some very recent and taken with my camera. If people like them, I might post more pictures that would be good to use as backgrounds or textures.

Yours aesthetically, AM x

Leave a Reply

